Yoga~Me~Healthy

One Ballsey Gal.com site

Reservations…..No More March 21, 2013

Filed under: Health Hopes — Working From Bed Productions @ 5:43 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So here I sit typing away, nearly a week now gone by since my daughter and I drove up north….WAY up North. As I entered into the larger than large 4×4 early last Friday morning, packed to the roof ( and then some ) full of stuff for this northern adventure, I remembered something; Before shifting into “DRIVE”, I heard my husband’s voice~ “Check your mirrors, make sure you have complete visibility”. “Right, o.k, side left mirror good, right one, nice and clear, rear view…not so much.  What I did see however was our Yoga Mats standing upright, like excited children going on vacation, smiling  I got out, opened up the back and”settled”them down. THIS had me feeling happiness, in that moment, for I knew that Yoga really is part of my life and will go with me wherever and whenever, always.

The weather that morning wasn’t great, so I felt a little uneasy, though I reminded myself I am in the BEST possible vehicle for highway driving, especially winter highway driving. When I say the best vehicle this couldn’t be truer. My daughter was equipt in the backseat with her own entertainment unit, complete with a fold down DVD movie screen and headphones, while I had multiple hours of audio books to enjoy up front. Never wanting to shy away from doing ‘stuff’ together, my daughter suggested we ‘watch’ the movie together…so that we did. She provided all the visual descriptions, while I caught bits and pieces of dialogue, and I mean bits. Not the most relaxing way to experience a movie, but it was interesting.

The last time I drove 10 hours was when I was 23 yrs. old, yup that’d be 20 years ago. I remember it been exhausting  and somewhat freaky. Probably shouldn’t have remembered this little diddy, for then I knew where I was going, this time not so much. I did have a map my employer/family friend drew for me, including locations of where I can let my fully freaked out beagle out for a pee and where I can’t? “How come?”, I inquired….”Wild dogs”, he replied. “Ahh….eesh”. I began to visualize wild dogs running out of the forest, a la Twilight movie, straight at us,  while I’m running frantically trying with all my might to ‘swing’ into my arms my ever chubby beagle, Yo Yo style~ OR would I just run…solo, you see, we have MAJOR beagle issues, but that’s a whole other blog..

I snapped my mind back, its fine, it will be fine….my least favourite word btw.

By hour 4 I began feeling funky, but not in a good way. This happened back and forth throughout the trip, but you know what? For every ‘moment’ I had of the negative persuasion, NATURE popped up in my visual and said” LOOK AT ME, LOOK AT ME!”  I cannot tell you how beautiful it is up in this part of the province ( Manitoba) Yes I’ve seen trees and yes I’ve seen sky, but not like this~There it was again, I realized, this gentle nudge, a reminder of what really was important, what to focus on, and this was in a word beauty, specifically the beauty of nature.  Driving with this state of consciousness was yet another example of doing Yoga. I have learnt to focus on my breath, but outside the studio….this was something new, and I liked it!

We arrived late, survived close to 2 hours of ‘off off ‘roading’ en route to the Cross Lake Reservation. I prayed hard during these last bits of road warrioring that a) I would know what a “buggy” was ( a construction worker stopped to advise me to  “watch out for these machines, which would zip onto the ‘highway’ at random”). These ‘buggies’, which sounded like they would be small, actually turned out to be mammoth road scrapers. I nearly peed my pants during a few of these encounters, which isn’t hard to do, especially if one has experienced multiple pregnancies. My next prayer b) that we wouldn’t arrive at night. I don’t like to drive at night, vision issues. As we were trekking down this God awful road, seemingly taking forever ( at this point in time, due to tiredness and foggy brain syndrome, Yoga took a backseat and watched a movie with my daughter).  I began to sense the light diminishing. “How in the heck am I going to find where we are staying etc..in the friggin black of blackness? Again, just like before, PoP! there it was… another amazing distraction; the most beautiful sunset sky I’d ever seen….ever. It took up what seemed like the ENTIRE sky!  

I was transported for a moment outside myself, witnessing us travelling on this long, bumpy, dusty road with no other vehicles in sight, all the while being enveloped by this protecting heavenly sky…Moments later, a small sign that read Cross Lake appeared, we had arrived

After I reflected later on in the evening, after our quick offload was complete ( quick due to some seriously cold arctic winds), while enjoying a beautiful glass of Malbec, I came to appreciate the ongoing gifts of Yoga, in all its many many forms.

Namaste

 

One Response to “Reservations…..No More”

  1. beth Says:

    nice one gals ❤


Leave a Reply

